Roll On Deodorant, Roll On

My boyfriend (AKA Skullsinthestars) and I recently flew to Amsterdam for vacation/his work.  USAirways lost our luggage (that’s a story for another post).  Since the terrorists can blow up planes using more than 3 ounces of liquid,  I didn’t carry on any of my toiletries beyond a toothbrush and toothpaste.  That left us in Amsterdam at 8:00 am with none of the basic necessities.  Luckily my fabulous boyfriend had lived in Amsterdam for two years and knew the city well.  He took me shopping to the main drugstore to pick up some of the things we needed.  The drugstore we went to carried roll on deodorant.  I haven’t seen or purchased roll on deodorant since the 80’s.  There really isn’t anything wrong with roll on deodorant other than it takes a few minutes to dry.  I guess Americans are just too time-strapped to have to wait two minutes for their deodorant to dry before getting dressed so we have to use solid deodorant.  I don’t know about you, but I hate the white streaks you get on your clothes as a result and I’ll gladly wait the few minutes a roll on requires to avoid it.  I purchased a bottle of the deodorant and have been using it ever since.

This got me thinking about other products that have disappeared from our stores mysteriously or for some trumped-up marketing reason.  Whatever happened to pump toothpaste?  That was THE toothpaste to have once upon a time.  And do you remember Jello 1-2-3?  It looked just like regular Jello when you prepared it, but when you poured it into a tall glass, the magic happened.  It would separate into three distinct layers.  The bottom layer was regular Jello, the top layer was a lovely, whipped cream substance and the middle layer was a combination of the two.  But sadly, it disappeared from store shelves sometime in my youth.

Those are three things that I came up with this morning.  Can you think of other main-stream products or product variations that inexplicably disappeared?

4 Comments

Filed under Consumer Products

4 responses to “Roll On Deodorant, Roll On

  1. The only thing I can think of are the old glass Coke bottles, which are no longer readily available but appear now and again in places. Coke tastes best out of those bottles, in my opinion, and tastes worst from 2-liter bottles. Maybe their disappearance isn’t ‘inexplicable’, though…

  2. Anne

    What about that product you can use when you don’t have time to wash your hair? In a spray can. What was it called? Hair So New? And Beer on Tap – remember that shampoo that was supposed to be so good for your hair? I haven’t seen those products in ages. Hot rollers with the prickly ends that you secure with prongs – do they still make those? Jean-Nate perfume used to be popular.
    Hmmm – I could go on but won’t, I’m sure Greg is bored if reading this . . . .

  3. babs67

    Anne – I remember that spray hair wash stuff. It smelled really good. I did find this one at drugstore.com. I’m not sure it is the same one that we used.

    I think we had that Body on Tap shampoo too. I don’t know if it made any difference. I always wanted, “Gee, Your Hair Smells Terrific” shampoo. My friend used it and her hair did smell good. For some reason though, my mom wouldn’t buy it for us. Maybe she thought we’d attract to much unwanted attention. BWAHAA!!!

  4. Anne wrote: “Hmmm – I could go on but won’t, I’m sure Greg is bored if reading this . . . .”

    Zzzzz… Hmm? Wha?

Leave a Reply

