Home Again

Last weekend I went back to my hometown of Avon, just west of Cleveland.  I lived there and in Cleveland until 5 years ago when I moved to Charlotte.  I was there for my grandmother’s surprise 90th birthday party.  She seemed to enjoy herself and was very surprised and happy that my sister (from Montana) and I had traveled home to celebrate with her.

On Friday night I met up with my girlfriends from high school at the local “hot spot” The Creekside.  It’s your typical “old school” type bar with the checkered floor, round, red vinyl bar stools that spin around and a bunch of locals hanging out.  It’s the kind of bar I spent a lot of time when I lived in Cleveland and I miss that atmosphere down here in Charlotte.

I am definitely living a different life than my friends.  They are all divorced and/or remarried and have kids.  They haven’t left Avon and have no plans to do so.   They seem happy with their lives so I can’t fault them for their choices, but I’m glad I’m where I am now.

My mom, my sister and I spent Saturday shopping.  It was quite a marathon.  The weather was unseasonably hot and since it is in the 50’s in Montana and she had packed away all of her summer stuff, my sister didn’t have anything appropriate to wear.   We spent a good deal of time looking for things for her.  Plus, updating her wardrobe when we could! My sister dresses for comfort which is a good thing, but my mom and I try to get her to push her comfort zone a little.  It’s like our version of “What Not to Wear”.  We did get her into a pair of pointy toe shoes so I think our mission was accomplished.

Due to some health issues that I will elaborate on in another post, I have gained 17 pounds in the last 2 years.  I have a closet full of clothes that I cannot fit into.  I kept hoping that I would lose the weight and get back into them.  Each morning was turning into an exercise in futility as I tried on outfit after outfit only to throw them on the bed in disgust.  I finally broke down and decided I needed to purchase some things in the right size so that I could get dressed trauma-free and get to work on time.  I had enough things to get me through the summer, but now in the fall and winter I needed a few more things.  It’s been a nice exercise in how to build a wardrobe.  I realize now that I need to have some basics and then build on them.  That in itself has been a good lesson for me. I feel less guilty about spending the money on these clothes because I am making good decisions about what I’m buying.  I bought 3 pairs of pants at Ann Taylor Loft (their size 12 petites always fit me) and my mother bought me a GORGEOUS sweater and matching belt from Talbots.  Now I just need this weather to cool off enough to wear them!

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

