Too Much Stuff!

I frequent Huffington Post often.  They have a nice mix of news; business, politics, entertainment, living now, etc.  I read this post, The Sky Mall Trap by Lee Woodruff today.  It is a pretty funny article, but it really cuts to the heart of the fact that as Americans, we really have too much stuff!  Our houses keep getting bigger to hold all of our stuff, we need to rent storage spaces to keep our stuff if it won’t fit in our house, and we have shows on TV devoted to organizing or decluttering all our stuff.

I am just as guilty as most people in that I have a lot of stuff.  It actually makes me quite anxious if I think about it.  My boyfriend and I are planning on eventually having a place together and I am overwhelmed at the thought of having to pack up all of my stuff.  I will really start to hyperventilate when I think about organizing his stuff (he has a lot of stuff too) and my stuff in our new place. 

I think I’m going to start going through my place and weeding out more and more stuff that I don’t really need.  At the same time, I need to figure out how I can stop acquiring so much stuff (yes, I know, this is right after I posted about buying three new pairs of pants and a sweater yesterday).  I can’t stand that I have 8 bottles of shampoo and conditioner, 4 bottles of body wash, 3 bottles of bubble bath, shaving lotion, 2 facial scrubs, 2 body scrubs, a back brush, a loofah washcloth, a bar of soap and a razor.  It’s amazing there is even room in there for me.  If I can use up what I have and narrow my stuff down to 1-2 of each item, I should be in better shape.  It’s kind of like a stuff diet…

2 Comments

Filed under Consumer Products

2 responses to “Too Much Stuff!

  1. Now you’ve got me doing the same thing. I’m rooting through my closet for more clothes I don’t need. It’s amazing – I’ve probably done this three times in the past, but always manage to find new things to which I respond, “Why would I ever have worn that?”

  2. babs67

    Honey – I’ve asked myself the same thing many times when I see what you are wearing. 😉

    You know I love you!

Leave a Reply

