The Great Closet Makeover

So I’ve begun clearing out the clothes in my closet that don’t fit me right now.  I sorted them by size and realized I have enough clothes to outfit three people.   There are three categories; small-, medium- and large-me.  I am hoping that I don’t end up with an “extra-large-me” category in there.

This project is taking longer than I’d like.  Part of the problem is that I am trapped for about 9 hours a day at work sitting at my desk not really adding any value when I could be home doing much more productive things.  The other part of the problem is that I don’t have a lot of energy.  I have adrenal fatigue and hypothyroidism that I am currently treating (also the cause of the various sizes of me).  I can only do a little bit at a time before I need to rest physically and mentally. 

I’ve come to realize that I really enjoy jobs/projects where I can take a big mess and make it better.  I’m all about seeing the results of my labor.  Right now, my “real” job; you know, the one that pays me a good salary along with benefits,  is really unsatisfying.  I’m stuck with a manager who won’t let me have any decision-making power and doesn’t know how to delegate.  The whole department is undergoing a 5-month long reorganization.  Where I work, a “reorganization”  is defined as getting a new executive over your area who has the strong need to “mark” his territory by dismantling everything his predecessor put in place and putting everyone in the department into new groups and creating new work flows between them.  This generally creates a great deal of worry, disatisfaction and upheaval amongst his associates.  But, he gets to show his management what a great job he’s done in the first year on the job with charts and data that shows how unproductive we were before and how productive we will be  in the future.  In the meantime, all of the funding for our projects has been cut so that we can make sure our CEO gets his millions in compensation at the end of the year.  So, in addition to not knowing what job you are going to be doing in the next month, you have nothing to work on before then or aren’t too motivated to get into something new because you might not be even working on it later.  This is a fantastic strategy for boosting morale if you ask me.

My mom and my sister both own their own businesses.  I’ve thought about it, but I’m not sure what I’d want to do.  I really like organizing and I have a background in interior design so I’ve thought about starting a home organization/decorating business.  That’s good for a “hobby” job – you know, one where your husband makes a bunch of money and you work for spending money. Feminists of the blogosphere are breaking out in a sweat right now over that comment.  But really, it is a good gig if you can get it.  🙂  I don’t want to do just a hobby job so I need to figure out how I could grow it.   I was thinking I could employ a couple of women who want “hobby” jobs and I would be the head organizer. 

I’ll start researching this so watch for updates on my plans…

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Great Closet Makeover

  1. There are lots of women out there waiting for someone like you to come along and organize them. What about a business with a group of women who do home organization and clutter-reduction? (I think there are probably franchises like that.) Or a business of women (and men!) who act as personal assistants to busy professionals (heaven knows I could use someone to go buy dog food when we’re out). I think there are plenty of income streams out there, you just have to find them.

  2. babs67

    You’re right – there is the need. I guess the question is, are they willing to pay what I would need to charge to make it worth my while? I’m also considering a home-staging business. I would go into a house that is empty and for sale and fix it up to look great for showings. There are plenty of furniture outlet stores in this state and I could buy a household full of furniture for a couple thousand bucks. That one isn’t as time consuming as the organizing business and could be a nice income stream…hmm…of to Google some information on that.

  3. I would say that if you’re unhappy with your current situation, by all means start looking for alternative jobs or starting your own business! Even if you find one that involves a reduction in salary, it could still be completely worth it from a psychological point of view. Not everything in life is about having the highest salary, a fact that many Americans seem to not understand.

    I will of course support you any way I can, even if it’s only moral support!

  4. Redhead2001

    If you ever get to the Chicago area, I have a few closets that you can organize. Perhaps, we can get rid of that “Penn and Teller” autographed t-shirt in one closet. You really may want to consider expanding your expertise to basements (something I don’t believe exist in North Carolina, Florida, etc., but do in the Midwest). If you had the opportunity to check out mine, you would find collections of books, comic books, role-playing games, rocks, Star Wars toys, miniatures, and college leftovers. I have to admit that I am an offender as well. I have portable closets with clothes that still fit, but are similar to what was worn by Julia Roberts in “Pretty Woman”. I also have a coat that I knitted over 30 years ago (and never wore) and a white wool coat with a white fox collar from 1967. It was elegant! There are certain things you just can’t give up, unless someone pries them out of your hands.

    If you decide to make this your life’s work…be careful. There will always be some criticism. “Why did you throw away those “Star Wars’ toys? They are worth something!” “What ever happened to my Commodore 64 and 120? I could have sold them on EBay.” “Those Commodore games are CLASSICS!”

    Sign me up for your “organizing task force”, but be careful selecting items to be eliminated. You may want to consider a job in “Staging”. Being a realtor, there is always a need for someone to come in and show Sellers how to make their homes more marketable (cleaning up the clutter, etc.) Good luck!

Leave a Reply

