And Then There Were Three…

When I started this blog, I only had two kitties.  Two bad kitties.  Well, now I’d like to introduce a third kitty, Zoe.  Little Zoe is actually my boyfriend’s cat, but we got her knowing that we will all probably be living in the same house sometime in the near (?) future.   Here she is – she’s quite a beauty.

Zoe

My boyfriend likes my two cats and they are, for the most part, pretty friendly to him.  But I think he felt like they weren’t really “his”.  A few weeks ago, a stray cat began showing up at his apartment in the evening.  This cat was very cute and very friendly.  I could tell my boyfriend was warming up to the idea of taking her in.  Then she stopped showing up.  My boyfriend was clearly disappointed, so a week ago last Sunday, I suggested that we go to the animal shelter to see if there were any other kitties that might want a nice home.  We picked out two kittens and an older cat to have brought to the interaction room.  The first kitten was nice enough, but more interested in wandering around the room than being held and petted. I told my boyfriend that when he found the right cat, he would know.  The next one they brought in was the older cat.  The worker brought her in and handed her to my boyfriend.  She immediately flopped on her back in his lap and started purring.  I think it was love at first sight.   She went home with him that night. 

My boyfriend has turned out to be quite the indulgent pet parent.  Zoe has half of PetSmart’s toy department at her disposal and if she looks the slightest bit bored, he runs out and gets her something else.  I am by no means casting aspersions since my two cats have the world’s largest cat condo installed in my living room. 

So last weekend we decided it was time to introduce the kitties.  Overall it went pretty well.  We started out by separating Zoe in the guest bedroom and then by Sunday we were able to let them all out in the house together.  There was some hissing and Simon seemed to be the most disturbed about the newcomer.  We think he might feel the most threatened since he could end up low-man (well, only-man) on the totem pole. 

 Zoe went home Sunday night and my two kitties spent the next day hanging out in the guest bedroom looking for their new friend.

2 Comments

Filed under cats

2 responses to “And Then There Were Three…

  1. “My boyfriend has turned out to be quite the indulgent pet parent. ”

    What can I say? She’s just the cutest thing! Even looking at the picture on the web page makes me want to run home and give her a big hug!

  2. “Zoe has half of PetSmart’s toy department at her disposal and if she looks the slightest bit bored, he runs out and gets her something else. ”

    Part of my problem is that I’m easily bored myself if I’m not keeping busy, and I implicitly assume that every other creature on the planet must feel the same way. Most likely Zoe’s quite happy to just sit around and do nothing, and my attempts to keep her entertained are often annoying!

Leave a Reply

