Bringing back some class

I read this blog on Chic Nostalgia by Leslie M. M. Blume on Huffington Post today.  This is the third one she’s written about things we should bring back in style.  I think she has some excellent suggestions that more people should follow.  Number two on her list is dressing nicely for dinner and travel.  Bravo! 

When I was about 5, I went on my first plane ride to Florida.  My mom went out and bought my sister and I new outfits to wear for the plane.  I believe I had pink gauzy pants with a matching t-shirt.  We had nice big chairs and they served us a real breakfast – eggs, toast, fruit salad on a real plate – and this was coach!  The airlines have now reduced flying to the equivalant of riding in a train car with a bunch of hobos. The seats are too small and they are too close together (I’m a small person, so I can’t even imagine how awful it is for average to larger size people).  Food, if it is served, is usually in a cardboard box.  And forget about getting dressed up.  People show up in sweatpants and t-shirts and I’ve seen teen-age girls in their pajamas.  Blech – even if we aren’t flying first class, let’s have a little civility, folks.

In addition to the things on her list, I’d also like to add a few of my own.  Let’s bring back:

1.  Waiting until after Thanksgiving to start playing Christmas carols on the radio – really, what purpose does it serve to play them earlier other than to fuel holiday road rage?  I’m Dreaming of  a White Christmas by Bing Crosby is soulful and sweet until you hear him whistling the refrain for the billionth time at which point you want to either smash your radio or ram the car in front of you for sitting at the green light a second too long.

2.  Nylons for women – it seems that women under the age of 40 have decided that wearing nylons is too restrictive and that they prefer bare legs.  Even if you have a nice tan, it just doesn’t look polished.  If you buy the right size and style, they aren’t uncomfortable.  Or you can glam things up with a garter belt and thigh highs and make your man happy.

Those are two right off the top of my head.  Care to add anything?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Bringing back some class

  1. How about treating a movie theater as a place you go to sit quietly and watch a movie, not a place you go to socialize with your friends while the movie’s playing?

Leave a Reply

