Another reason I don’t go to church…updated

*Sigh*.  These Christians continue to provide me with justification for not associating myself with them.  Pat Robertson responds to a question from one of his 700 Club viewers about whether or not yoga has origins in evil and whether she should participate in it.  I’m not even going to get into what a moron this lady is for even asking this question in the first place.

Good ol’ Pat tells her that stretching is fine, but that some of the chants are prayers to *gasp* Hindu gods.  And that the yoga mantra of believing that god is all around us and that we can connect with him borders on pantheism.  What is so awful about connecting with god?

So Pat warns us not to participate in any of that mumbo jumbo yoga stuff cause we’ll end up in hell.  But keep sending him money to support his Christian beliefs that include killing President Chavez, supporting the endless mess in Iraq, hating gays and keeping women subservient to men.  Hallelujah! 

Update:  After I wrote this yesterday, I remembered seeing something about churches not allowing yoga classes to be taught on their property.  These churches decided that the Yum Yum Yoga class for kids was just too antichrist for them.   The Hindu Council UK (HCUK) then took offense to some of the comments by the churches that yoga is a “sham” and a “false philosophy” and that the churches’ ban may be contrary to the Equality Act of 2006.  Good for them. 

I do yoga and I have studied Buddhist and Hindu beliefs.  They are in no way “evil”.  If anything, they have offered me a new perspective on my life and how I treat people.  I am much more accepting and compassionate than I ever was as a “christian”.  If that is what they consider evil then I’ll take it.

1 Comment

Filed under religion

One response to “Another reason I don’t go to church…updated

  1. Vikrant

    Nice to read it…As a born Hindu and now Hindu by choice, I believe Universal humanity is and should be the core of any religion.

    Yoga is good not cause it is some Hindu concept, but cause that actually helps. Chanting is just to keep our mind focused, so they said to focus it on god. They didn’t know Jesus then, so they said about Hindu gods. I would be comfy in chanting Jesus’s name too …That’s it.

Leave a Reply

