People Suck

I haven’t written for quite some time.  I’ve been really busy at work and still trying to get my health issues under control.  I finally found an endocrinologist who was actually interested in helping me find out what was wrong with me and how to fix it.  I went in two weeks ago last Friday to see him for the first time.  He requested a whole host of blood work on me.  He said it would take a couple of weeks for all the results to come in.  Last Thursday I called his office to inquire about the status of my results.  I left a message since the nurse was unavailable.  On Friday afternoon, I hadn’t heard back so I called again.  The receptionist tried reaching the nurse again.  He came back and said that the nurse said that the results were back and that the doctor was reviewing them.  She said she expected to have them back from him that afternoon.  Friday afternoon came and went with no answer.  I am so anxious to hear back about these results because I have been feeling unwell for so long and I am hoping that this doctor has finally started to put the pieces together.  Anyway, I figured if I didn’t hear back from them on Friday, I would hear on Monday.  At four o’clock yesterday afternoon I still hadn’t heard, so I called back.  I left an actual voicemail on the nurse’s phone.  I explained that I was anxious to hear and that even if she called to let me know when I should expect to hear back that would be great.  I was in an all-day meeting today away from my voicemail.  I checked my work voicemail periodicallly throughout the day.  Finally at 3:30 the nurse left me a voicemail to call her back.  I called at 4:00 when I could step out of the meeting.  The receptionist tried several times to get the nurse because he knew I’d been calling and trying to get an answer.  He finally was able to contact the nurse.  He said she was busy with a patient, but that another nurse was going to call me.  I explained that I was in an all-day meeting and that my cell phone didn’t have good reception but to have the other nurse leave a phone number if she didn’t get me.  He said that she worked until 5:30 and would call me before she left.  Surprise, surprise, NO ONE CALLED ME BACK!!!  At this point I was livid.  I called back and got their after hours answering service.  I was given a recorded message and told to hold for the next available representative.  I was on hold for five minutes when someone answered and asked me to hold.  I was then on hold for another FIVE MINUTES before I finally gave up.  I was beside myself I was so angry at this point.  I finally called back a while later.  I was on hold for almost five minutes when someone finally answered.  She wanted to put me on hold.  I told her “no”.  She wanted to know what my problem was.  I told her my problem was that “NO ONE IN THE OFFICE WOULD CALL ME BACK!!!!”  I told her to leave a message with the office that I was done being nice and patient and I wanted someone to call me back before 9 am tomorrow morning.  We’ll see if they call me back. Maybe if they got email like this article it might help.

What bothers me is that I don’t think that people in these positions consider the impact that their actions or lack of have on patients.  I’m not calling to find out about a haircut appointment.  I’m calling about MY HEALTH.  This is such a fundamental element to my overall quality of life and each day that goes by is one more day that my quality is lessened.  I feel like I’ve waited so long to feel better and I am at the end of my rope.

In the meantime, I had moved to a new office space last August.  The desk configuration and chairs were different than my previous office.  I tried to adjust my chair to all different heights but I continued to have shoulder issues from being hunched up to reach my keyboard.  I have such pain and headaches from sitting like this.  I submitted a request to my corporate workplace to have a keyboard tray that sits below the  deck and pulls out and adjusts.  I got a response that I need to approve the P.O. for it.  I approved it and sent it back.  4 weeks later, I still hadn’t heard anything so I emailed them back.  They said they misplaced the P.O. but now they had found it and would process it.  Another 3 weeks went by and I still hadn’t heard anything.  I emailed them AGAIN.  I finally got an email back and was told that the keyboard was going to be received in the warehouse on that Thursday and that on Friday or Monday I would hear from the coordinator to schedule the installation.  Two weeks went by and I hadn’t heard from anyone.  I sent an email asking for a status.  NO ANSWER this time.  Today I was in no mood for this crap anymore so I sent an email again.  I told them that I wanted a status on the installation of this keyboard tray and that it was impacting my health.  If they didn’t want to make this a priority after 2 and a half months that I would inform OSHA.  I guess OSHA is the secret password because I promptly got a voicemail from someone named Nicole  wanting to let me know that the keyboard was just delivered last week and that someone would be calling me to coordinate the installation.  I will be calling Nicole tomorrow to let her know what I think about the whole process and the fact that I had to get to the point of going to OSHA to get anything to happen.  Maybe in her mind a keyboard tray isn’t a big deal.  When I have to sit at the desk for up to 9 hours a day 5 days a week, it is a big deal to me. 

I was just given a raise at work.  I was surprised to get one since I’d just gotten one last July and typically we don’t get them in less than 12 months especially considering the economy right now.  My manager told me that I was doing a great job and deserved it.  I was shocked because I don’t think I’ve even done 75% of what I could possibly doing.  It is occuring to me now that my 75% is probably 100% better than what the average worker gives. 

That is my rant for today.  It might be a bit rambling, but I just needed to say it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “People Suck

  1. Hi! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the superb work!

Leave a Reply

